Posted March 27, 2021 1:18 pm by

NAIROBI, Kenya Mar 27- The government has eased the lockdown restrictions issued Friday by President Uhuru Kenyatta to enable anyone caught off-guard to travel.

Government Spokesman Cyrus Oguna said the restrictions for travel in the five counties zones areas will be relaxed until Sunday 8pm.

This is to enable anyone locked out of their areas to travel before strict enforcement starts.

But even as he spoke, police had already erected roadblocks in the affected boundaries in line with President Kenyatta’s directive.

Under Kenyatta’s directive, Nairobi, Machakos, Kiambu, Kajiado and Nakuru are zoned as one region with restrictions into and out.

Below is Oguna’s full statement that sought to clarify the Public Order No 2 of 2021 on COVID-19 containment measures issued by the President.

For better adherence to the containment measures enumerated in the Public Order above, we wish to clarify and offer more details on certain issues:

  1. Restriction of all Movement by road, rail, and air in and out of the Counties of Nairobi, Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu and Nakuru. We wish to clarify that these five Counties have been grouped together into One Zone.

Movement is therefore restricted from other Counties into the Zone or from inside the Zone to other Counties. Road blocks will be mounted at strategic locations to monitor movement as follows:

a. Kiambu County
o At Nachu along Ngong Suswa Road.
o At Mahi Mahiu near Catholic Church along Mahi Mahiu-Nairobi Road.
o At Mathore/Soko Mjinga at the border with Nakuru County area Lari Sub County along Nairobi-Nakuru Highway.
o At Gakoe area in Gatundu North along the Forest Road running from Nyandarua to Kiambu.
o At Blue Post in Thika west along Nairobi-Nyeri road
o At Gateiguru market along Makuyu-Gateiguru Road in Thika East.

b. Kajiado County
o At Isinya along Konza-Isinya road within Isinya Sub County.
o At Railway Bridge Stone Athi along Lukenya- Kitengela road in Isinya Sub County.
o At Njugini bridge (Loitoktok) Ilasit-Rombo Road within Kajiado South.
o At Tsavo Gate Loitoktok-Intilal Road within Kajiado South.
o At Ilasit along Tanzania-Kenya border in Kajiado South.
o At Kiu along Makueni-Mashuru Road.
o At Emali SGR Underpass.
o At Flyover Loitoktok Junction Masimba.
o At Kiboko area off Nairobi-Mombasa Road Mashuru Sub County.
o At Kibiko area Suswa-Ngong Road within Kajiado North Sub County.
o At Vet farm along Narok-Ngong Road through Kikuyu-Kajiado North Sub County.

c. Machakos County
o At Katumani Machakos junction along Mombasa- Nairobi Road within Athi River Sub County.
o At Katuaa along Machakos-Wote Road within Machakos County.
o At Kali along Machakos-Mbooni Road, Machakos Sub County.
o At Read More…